Skip to Content
Walden News // Jan 17, 2012

Walden University Marks 47th Commencement in Miami

Minneapolis—January 17, 2012— Walden University will hold its 47th Commencement ceremony on Saturday, Jan. 21, at the James L. Knight Center in Miami, celebrating the doctoral, post-graduate, master’s and bachelor’s degrees as well as certificates earned by nearly 5,000 graduates from all 50 states and 38 countries. Approximately 500 graduates, along with their families and friends, are expected to attend the ceremony in Miami, with thousands more participating via live webcast starting at 1:30 p.m. Eastern time at

Paula R. Singer, a leader in higher education for more than 25 years, will address graduates as the keynote speaker. Ms. Singer, chair of the Walden University board of directors for the past 10 years, has played a significant role in redefining higher education through the innovative use of technology to enhance student learning and increase access for underserved student populations. She is the president and chief executive officer of Laureate Education’s Global Products and Services Group, leading its U.S. campus-based and online higher education institutions in disciplines that have a global reach, including hospitality management; culinary arts; and architecture, art and design.

Degree programs with first-time graduates include the B.S. in Educational Studies, the BS in Public Health, the MS in Clinical Psychology, the MS in Health Informatics, the MS in Higher Education and the MS in Project Management programs.

Other individuals who will be honored at commencement include:

  • Christopher M. Hinnerichs, PhD in Public Health graduate from Fairborn, Ohio, who received the Harold L. Hodgkinson Award for his dissertation, Efficacy of Fixed Infrared Thermography for Identification of Subjects with Influenza-like Illness. This award is presented to the Walden graduate whose dissertation meets the highest university standards of academic excellence.
  • Dr. Angela Witt Prehn, core faculty member in the PhD in Public Health program in Walden’s School of Health Sciences, from Apple Valley, Minn., who received the Bernard L. Turner Award, which is presented to the faculty chair who oversees the dissertation of the recipient of the Harold L. Hodgkinson Award.
  • Dr. Nancy K. Rea, program director of the PhD in Public Health and the Master of Public Health (MPH) programs in the School of Health Sciences, from Girard, Pa., and Dr. Kelley Jo Walters, program director of the Doctor of Education (EdD) and the Education Specialist (EdS) programs in The Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership, from Armada, Mich., who each received the Presidential Award for Faculty Excellence, which is presented to Walden faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the university.


The Walden University community gathers to honor its graduating students twice a year at summer and winter commencement ceremonies. An archived version of the 2012 winter commencement will be available at following the ceremony.

About Walden University
For more than 40 years, Walden University has supported working professionals in achieving their academic goals and making a greater impact in their professions and their communities. Today, more than 48,500 students from all 50 states and more than 140 countries are pursuing their bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degrees online at Walden. The university provides students with an engaging educational experience that connects them with expert faculty and peers around the world. Walden is the flagship online university in the Laureate International Universities network—a global network of more than 55 campus-based and online universities in 28 countries.

Walden offers more than 65 degree programs with more than 330 specializations and concentrations. Areas of study include health sciences, counseling, human services, management, psychology, education, public health, nursing, public administration and information technology. For more information, visit Walden University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association,