Skip to Content

Re-watch our Summer 2022 Commencement Virtual Celebration available now on demand!

Walden Magazine // Jul 14, 2017

Announcing our 2017 Outstanding Alumni Award Winner

Dr. Lovely
Dr. Lovely Thornton

Congratulations to this year’s Outstanding Alumni Award winner, Dr. Lovely Thornton!

Dr. Lovely Thornton is a 1993 PhD in Education graduate with more than 40 years of work in the various communities in which she has lived around the world. She is the founder and president of Sensible Women Initiative, Inc., an organization that assists ladies from age 5 through 25 with developing professional skills and decision making. She also cofounded Parents Assisting Youth in Germany, and developed a transition program for a Department of Defense School in Misawa, Japan. Dr. Thornton is currently an adjunct faculty member at Towson University in Maryland.

From the nominator: “Dr. Thornton is a dynamic, sensible woman of immense integrity who is committed to service and social change.”

From the judges: “Dr. Thornton has over 40 years of volunteerism, started a nonprofit to help young women develop professionalism, and is an engaging professor in education. She has had a far-reaching impact on positive social change.”

This year we received 33 nominations, representing 13 class years and 27 degree programs.

We applaud the following four finalists for their commitment to effecting positive social change in their communities:

Dr. Tonya Howard Calhoun ’16, PhD in Public Policy and Administration graduate
Alvin Mena Cantero ’15, Master of Science in Nursing graduate and Doctor of Nursing Practice student
Dr. Martin K. Logo ’16, PhD in Public Health graduate
Dr. Patricia Spearman ’15, Doctor of Business Administration graduate

The Outstanding Alumni Award is granted each year to a graduate who exemplifies our mission to effect positive social change by making an impact on his or her profession, discipline, or community. The recipient of the award is honored at the Awards Dinner during Commencement Weekend each summer. Nominations for the 2018 award will open in the spring.