One of two awards honoring the founders of Walden University, the Bernard L. Turner award is bestowed upon the dissertation committee of the recipient of the Harold L. Hodgkinson Award.

This award honors the unique contributions to American higher education of Bernard L. Turner, chairman of the board (emeritus) and founding president of Walden University. An innovator in graduate-level distance education for professionals, Mr. Turner’s lifetime concerns for critical thinking and social change have left an indelible mark on the Walden curriculum. A passionate advocate of educational equality of opportunity and social justice, he made the Walden dream a reality through his persistence and dedication.


2016: Dr. Kristen Beyer, Dr. Penny McNatt Devine, Dr. S. David Kriska

2015: Dr. Jeanne Connors, Dr. Magdeline Aagard, Dr. Larissa Estes
Dr. Kimberley Cox

2014: Dr. Peter Anderson
Dr. Gary J. Burkholder

2013: Dr. Michael Schwab

2012: Dr. Angela Prehn

 Dr. Jeff Snodgrass


2010: Dr. Maria Rangel

2009: Dr. Linda Crawford

2008: Dr. Gloria J. Billingsley

2007: Dr. Linda Crawford

2006: Dr. Rodney Ford

2005: Dr. Lilburn Hoehn

2004: Dr. Ruth Maurer