See how graduates of The Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership are making a difference in their lives and the lives of others.

April 2014

Mary Durr ’12, an M.S. in Instructional Design and Technology graduate and a Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) student, published A Cry in the Night: The City of Lights’ Dark Side (Outskirts Press, 2013). She is a trainer at Time Warner Cable in Jackson, Miss.

Dr. Jennifer Methvin ’12, a Ph.D. in Education graduate, was named president of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo., in February. She previously served as vice chancellor for academics at the University of Arkansas Community College at Hope.

Dr. Bonnie Vause ’12, a Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) graduate, recently published the novel Fast Escape (Internet Marketing KY, LLC, 2014). She is a special education teacher at Johnston County Schools in Smithfield, N.C.

Dr. Charles J. Williams ’12, a Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) graduate, presented strategies for Common Core success at the Winter 2014 Professional Development Forum at West Ashley High School in Charleston, S.C., where he serves as the online learning and digital curriculum coordinator.

Dr. Chastity R. Williams-Lasley ’12, a Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) graduate, presented at a juried lecture during the Ethnographic & Qualitative Research Conference in October.

Dr. Kenneth “Marty” Fletcher ’05, a Ph.D. in Education graduate, was recently appointed director of the University of Hawaii Community College at Palamanui, where he will develop and deliver online degrees. The campus is set to open in fall 2015. Dr. Fletcher recently served as a senior lecturer for online education at Griffith University in Queensland, Australia.

March 2014

Eloise D. Stewart ’11, a Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) graduate, was recently named the supervisor of special services for Hillsborough Township Public Schools in New Jersey. She is also an adjunct faculty member at Fairleigh Dickinson University in Hackensack. Prior to her promotion, she served as an English teacher in the special services department at Randolph High School.

Dr. Valerie A. Worry ’11, an M.S. in Education (M.S.Ed.) and Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) graduate, was recently promoted to program director of the Process Operating Technology program at Lamar Institute of Technology in Beaumont, Texas. She worked as an instructor at the institute before receiving the promotion.

Dr. Jay Seller ’10, a Ph.D. in Education graduate, recently became the executive director of Think 360 Arts, an organization dedicated to providing arts education programs and services to Denver-area schools. Dr. Seller previously served as the theater director of the Adams 12 Five Star Schools.

Dr. Sara Eger ’07, an M.S. in Education (M.S.Ed.) graduate, was recently named the director of technology training programs in the School of Continuing and Professional Studies at Anne Arundel Community College in Arnold, Md. She formerly served as the instructional technology specialist in Anne Arundel County Public Schools.

Dr. Deborah W. Proctor ’05, a Ph.D. in Education graduate, recently worked as part of a committee to update the K–12 Secondary Rubric, which reflects the latest research literature and best practices in K–12 education and ensures quality. She is the online and digital learning specialist for the Minnesota Department of Education in Roseville.

February 2014

Dr. Elizabeth Grimes-Droessler ’13, a Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) graduate, was recently honored by Wake Education Partnership as one of five inaugural inductees into the Wake County Public School System Hall of Fame in recognition of her contributions to arts education. Dr. Droessler currently serves as the senior administrator for arts education for the Wake County Public School System in North Carolina, where she collaborates with principals to develop a district-wide framework for effective teaching and promote the arts as a means to increase literacy.

Dr. William Molnar III ’13, a Ph.D. in Education graduate, recently became a teacher at the Calderone School of Music in New Jersey. He has more than 25 years of experience as a music teacher in public school districts.

Cary Todd ’13, an M.S. in Education (M.S.Ed.) graduate, received the Tucson Values Teacher/OfficeMax Teacher Excellence Award in November 2013. A math teacher at Rio Rico High School in Rio Rico, Ariz., since 2007, he was recognized for his teaching excellence and commitment, as well as for inspiring his students inside and outside the classroom.

Dr. Pete Getz ’12, a Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) graduate, was named principal of Academy of the Canyons Middle College High School and Learning Post High School, both part of the William S. Hart Union High School District in California’s Santa Clarita Valley. Dr. Getz most recently served as the principal of the district’s Sequoia Charter School and founder of Hart@Home, the district’s home-school program. He began his career with the district as a biology and business education teacher.

Janna Carter ’08, an M.S. in Education (M.S.Ed.) graduate, has been named the Texas Region 5 Assistant Principal of the Year for the Secondary Level for 2013–14. The award recognizes Carter, who serves as assistant principal of Hamshire–Fannett Middle School in Beaumont, as one of the top three in her position in the state.

Mikki R. King ’08, an M.S. in Education (M.S.Ed.) graduate, became executive director of Community Hospice Care in Tiffin, Ohio, in January. She volunteered with the organization before joining the staff and assuming responsibility for performance improvement and marketing coordination in September 2012. She previously serviced as the director of communication and community development for the Tiffin Community YMCA.

January 2014

Dr. John DeGarmo ’12, a Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) graduate, recently became host of Foster Talk With Dr. John, a weekly radio show about foster care on BlogTalkRadio. The show, which features the perspectives of foster care experts, recently hosted the president of the National Foster Parent Association; the executive director of Our Fields of Hope Foundation; and former foster children who founded and edit Foster Focus magazine. Dr. DeGarmo is a media specialist in the Jasper County School District in South Carolina.

Martha Belcher ’07, an M.S. in Higher Education graduate, was recently named Teacher of the Year at Stringfellow Elementary School in Moultrie, Ga., for the second time. She teaches first grade.

Read accomplishments from previous years.

  • How It Paid Off

    Edwina HudsonEdwina Hudson Suit ’07, was promoted from school to district after earning her doctorate.

    Read Her Story

  • Alumni: Share Your News

    Send your accomplishments to