Institutional Accreditation

Higher Learning Commission Mark of AffiliationAccreditation is a mark of quality. Walden has been accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) since 1990. The HLC is one of six regional accrediting associations recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

Our accreditation assures the community that our programs are relevant and rigorous, our faculty is qualified and well prepared with the appropriate academic credentials, and our students are supported by first-class services and staff. Accreditation attests that we are continually reassessing the quality of our institution and programs—and continually improving them.

In 2013, our accredited status was reaffirmed by HLC, with our reviewer specifically acknowledging that we “operate with the utmost integrity” and that we “clearly embrace our unique mission of effecting positive social change through innovative and purposeful academic programs.”

Our accreditation status:

  • Allows access to federal and sometimes state financial aid.
  • Enables smooth transfer of credits from one accredited institution to another.
  • Instills confidence in employers when they evaluate job credentials of potential employees as well as when deciding whether to provide tuition support for current employees seeking further education.

Many countries have their own accrediting bodies, and degree recognition differs from country to country. If you reside outside of the United States, please review your country of residence’s requirements to confirm recognition of your Walden program.

Specialized Accreditation

Specialized accreditation is given to a college, school, or specific online degree program within a university, most often for professional programs that lead to certification or licensure. To receive this type of accreditation, the college, school, or program must demonstrate that it has relevant content, qualified faculty, and adequate resources to meet rigorous accreditation standards set for a specific field, discipline, or profession. By earning this accreditation, the specific program, school, or college shows that it successfully prepares students for advancement in the field.

Walden is proud to have earned specialized accreditations from the following organizations:

NCATE logoNational Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)—Walden’s Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). This prestigious accreditation covers initial teacher preparation programs and advanced educator preparation programs.

ACBSP LogoThe Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) is a leading specialized accreditation association that identifies and supports excellence in business education. Walden University’s BS in Business AdministrationMaster of Business Administration (MBA), Doctor of Business Administration (DBA), and PhD in Management programs are accredited by ACBSP. Walden’s BS in Accounting and MS in Accounting programs are also accredited by ACBSP and have earned the organization’s Specialized Accounting Accreditation.

CCNE logoCommission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)—Walden’s DNP, MSN, and BSN programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). CCNE is a national accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and ensures the quality and integrity of baccalaureate and graduate education programs in preparing effective nurses.

CACREP logoCouncil for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)—Walden’s PhD in Counselor Education and Supervision; MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling; and MS in Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling programs are accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP), a specialized accrediting body recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). CACREP accreditation ensures that the content and quality of counselor-preparation master’s and doctoral degree programs have been evaluated and meet standards set by the profession. 

PMI GAC logoProject Management Institute (PMI)® Global Accreditation Center (GAC) for Project Management Education Programs—Walden’s MS in Project Management program is accredited by the PMI Global Accreditation Center (GAC) for Project Management Education Programs. PMI GAC accreditation is the gold standard for excellence in project management education, affirming that Walden’s curriculum meets rigorous quality standards established by GAC.

ABET Accreditation LogoABET—Walden’s BS in Information Technology is one of only a few online programs accredited by ABET, the internationally recognized accreditor for college and university programs in applied science, computing, engineering, and engineering technology. This accreditation reaffirms the quality of Walden’s information systems and technology programs and support services, as well as its commitment to continuous assessment and improvement.

Earn your degree from an accredited university online. Request information or speak with an enrollment advisor by calling 1-866-492-5336. A list of international toll-free phone numbers is available for students outside the United States.

  • Accreditation Blog

    Dr. Eric Riedel, Walden’s Chief Academic Officer, shares why our recent reaffirmation for 10 more years is so important and what it means to our community.

    Read More

  • Learn More

    Questions about accreditation should be directed to:

    Office of Regulatory Affairs
    650 South Exeter Street
    Baltimore, MD 21202

  • CACREP Accreditation

    CACREP logo

    Find out what this accreditation means to you as a Walden student.

  • NCATE Accreditation

    National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)

    The Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), the standard of excellence in professional preK–12 education.

    Learn More

  • Choose Extraordinary